Committee on Cancer Biology Current Students

  • Committee on Cancer Biology Current Students

    Students in the Cancer Biology program come from a variety of backgrounds and pursue a wide range of research interests relevant to the Cancer Biology field

Stephen Arnovitz

Northwestern University
sarnovitz@uchicago.edu 

Matriculated: 2015
Thesis Advisor: Lucy Godley & Fotini Gounari

Hannah Brechka

                                                     B.A., Skidmore College (2012)
hbrechka@uchicago.edu

Matriculated:  2012
Thesis Advisor:  Don Vander Griend

Thesis Topic: "Alterations in the Binding of Meis Proteins
to HoxB13 or to DNA to Promote Cancer Progression"

Eric Bueter

B.S. Wake Forest University
bueter@uchicago.edu

Matriculated 2016
Thesis Adviosr: Russell Szmulewitz

John (Zhongyang) Cao

                                                        

B.A., Vanderbilt University (2013)
caoz@uchicago.edu

Matriculated:  2013
Thesis Advisor:  Lucy Godley

Thesis Topic: Regulation of 5-hmC distribution through TET2
in erythropoiesis"


Chang Cui

Pennsylvania State University
changc@uchicago.edu

M
atriculated: 2015
Thesis Advisor:  Lev Becker

Anna Dembo

                                           

B.S., University of California at Los Angeles (2010)
adembo@uchicago.edu

Matriculated:  2012
Thesis Advisor:  Geof Greene

Thesis Topic: "Reducing Breast Cancer Risk with Hormone
Replacement Therapy"

Kyle Delaney

M.S., University of Chicago (2017)
B.A., University of Virginia (2011)
kyledelaney@uchicago.edu

Matriculated: 2014
Thesis Advisor: Yingming Zhao

Larischa de Wet

McGill University
ldewet@uchicago.edu 

M
atriculated: 2015
Thesis Advisor: Don Vander Griend


Nesli Dolcen

Bates College
dndolcen@uchicago.edu

Matriculated: 2015
Thesis Advisor: Suzanne Conzen


Jessica Fessler

                Massachusetts Institute of Technology
jfessler@uchicago.edu

Matriculated: 2015
Thesis Advisor: Thomas Gajewski
 

Robert Gruener

University of Wisconsin-Madison
rgruener@uchicago.edu

Matricluated 2015
Thesis Advisor: Stephanie Huang & Geoffrey Greene
   

Mesmer (Yanran) He

                                              B.S., China Agricultural University (2012)
yanranhe@uchicago.edu

Matriculated:  2012
Thesis Advisor:  Hans Schreiber

Thesis Topic: "T cell therapy for established cancers by 
targeting autochthonous cancer-specific antigens"

Brendan Horton

                                                                                                                                                                        B.A., Boston University (2009)
blhorton@uchicago.edu

Matriculated:  2009
Thesis Advisor:  Tom Gajewski

Thesis Topic: "Combination Immunotherapy with an Agonistic 4-1BB Antibody Increases Tumor Reactive T Cells in the Tumor Periphery"

Molly Imgruet

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
imgruet2@uchicago.edu

Matriculated 2016
Thesis Advisor: Megan McNerney

Manisha Krishnan

Worcester Polytechnic (WPI)
manishak@uchicago.edu

Matriculated 2016
Thesis Advisor:  Fotini Gounari

Cynthia (Yuanyuan) Li

                                                       B.S., South-Central University for Nationalities (2008)
M.S., Illinois Institute of Technology (2010)
yli10@uchicago.edu

Matriculated:  2013
Thesis Advisor:  Xiaoyang Wu

Thesis Topic: "The Role of KDF1 and IKKα in Keratinocyte
Differentiation"

Yue Liu

Tsinghua University
yuel1@uchicago.edu

M
atriculated 2016
Thesis Advisor: Stephen Kron

Alex Ling

                             B.S., Northern Michigna University (2012)
aling@uchicago.edu

Matriculated: 2014
Thesis Advisor: Ken Onel & Stephanie Huang

Lindsey Ludwig

                                                                                 B.S., University of Northern Iowa (2013)
lludwig@uchicago.edu

Matriculated:  2013
Thesis Advisor:  James LaBelle

Thesis Topic: "BCL-2 Family Dependence and Modulation in Regulatory T cells"

Julian Lutze

BS University of California, Los Angeles
jlutze@uchicago.edu

M
atricluated 2016

Katrina Maxcy

A.B. Princeton University
kmaxcy@uchicago.edu

M
atriculated 2016
Thesis Advisor: James LaBelle

Mathew Perez-Neut

     

University of Illinois at Chicago
mperezneut@uchicago.edu 

Matriculated: 2015
Thesis Advisor: Yingming Zhao
 


Logan Poole

                       M.S., University of Chicago (2017)
B.S., University of Northern Iowa (2014)
poolel@uchicago.edu

Matriculated: 2014
Thesis Advisor: Kay Macleod
 

 


Jillian Rosenberg

B.S. Tulane University
jnrosenberg@uchicago.edu

M
atriculated 2016
Thesis Advisor: Jun Huang

Ashley Sample

                                                                                          B.S., Michigan State University (2013)
sampleas@uchicago.edu

Matriculated:  2013
Thesis Advisor:  Yu-Ying He

Thesis Topic: "Autophagy-Independent Regulation and Function of p62 in Skin Cancer Progression"

Rebecca Sturey

Gannon University
rlsturey@uchicago.edu 

Matriculated: 2015
Thesis Advisor: Marsha Rosner

 

Sriram Sundaravel

                                                       B.Tech., Government College of Technology (2009)
M.S., Illinois Institute of Technology (2012)
srirams@uchicago.edu

Matriculated: 2014
Thesis Advisor: Amittha Wickrema

Payal Tiwari

                                                                                                                             B.A., Deenbandhu Chhoturam University (2008)
M.S., Illinois Institute of Technology (2011)
ptiwari1@uchicago.edu

Matriculated:  2012
Thesis Advisor:  Marsha Rosner

Thesis Topic: "Metabolically activated macrophages: a novel link between obesity and TNBC"

Matthew Trendowski

B.S. Syracuse University
mrtrendowski@uchicago.edu

M
atriculated 2016
Thesis Advisor: Eileen Dolan

Sravya Tumuluru

M.S. Rush University
B.A. Northwestern University
stumuluru@uchicago.edu

M
atriculated 2016
Thesis Advisor:  Justin Kline

William Wagstaff

B.A. Stanford University (2012)
M.A. Stanford University (2013)
wagstaff@uchicago.edu

M
atriculated 2016
Thesis Advisor:  TBA

Dongbo (Peter) Yang

B.S., Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
dongboyang@uchicago.edu

M
atriculated: 2016
Thesis Advisor:

Ali Yesilkanal

                                                                   B.A., University of Chicago (2012)
aeyesilkanal@uchicago.edu

Matriculated:  2012
Thesis Advisor:  Marsha Rosner

Thesis Topic: "Regulation of TNBC kinome by the metastasis 
suppressor Raf Kinase Inhibitory Protein (RKIP)"
 

Maya Springer

                                            B.S., Depaul University (2010)
mzafrir@uchicago.edu

Matriculated:  2013
Thesis Advisor:  Kay Macleod

Thesis Topic: "Nuclear Functions of BNIP3 in Pancreatic Cancer"


Calvin VanOpstall

Calvin College
cvanopstall@uchicago.edu 

Matricluated: 2015
Thesis Advisor: Don Vander Griend

Clicke here for information on CCB Alumni