Biomedical Sciences Cluster

The Biomedical Sciences Cluster at the University of Chicago consists of five graduate programs: Cancer Biology, Immunology, Microbiology, Molecular Metabolism and Nutrition, and the Department of Pathology Molecular Pathogenesis and Molecular Medicine Graduate Program.  Each program is a distinct, degree-granting unit in the Biological Sciences Division.  The Cluster system enables these programs to integrate faculty, coursework, research programs, training programs, and seminars/symposia for a truly multidisciplinary training experience.  The result for graduate students is an integrated and flexible course of study, with options to work with over 170 full-time faculty.  For both pre- and postdoctoral trainees and faculty, the interdisciplinary nature of the Cluster provides extensive opportunities for interaction and collaboration.

The University of Chicago is located in Hyde Park, a distinctive south-side Chicago neighborhood that is home to a majority of University faculty, students, and staff.  Hyde Park is situated about seven miles (15 minutes) south of Chicago's downtown business district, commonly referred to as "The Loop".  Prospective Students will find a variety of activities and opportunities awaiting their arrival.